Mississippi Gulf Coast Daylily Society

               About us...


                    ARTICLE ONE:    NAME
The name of this club shall be the Mississippi Gulf Coast Daylily Society.  It is an affiliated member of Region 14 of the American Hemerocallis Society.
                   ARTICLE TWO:    PURPOSE
The purpose of this non-profit organization is to promote, encourage, and foster the development and improvement of the genus Hemerocallis, and the public interest therein, through programs, workshops, exhibits, and fellowship with other daylily enthusiasts at the local, regional, and national level of the American Hemerocallis Society.
                 ARTICLE THREE:  MEMBERS     
A person is eligible for membership who is in sympathy with the purpose of this society. Membership in the American Hemerocallis Society is also encouraged.    
                 ARTICLE FOUR:   OFFICERS
Officers of this society shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and a Publicity Director.
The President shall preside at all meetings of the Society, appoint committees, have general supervision of the affairs of the Society, and perform all such duties usually pertaining to this office.    
The Vice-President shall preside in the absence or disability of the President and shall serve as the chairman of the Program and Yearbook committee.                        
The Secretary shall keep the minutes of all proceedings, record the names of elected officials, give notice of all meetings to the membership, and perform any other duties as the office may require.                                
The Treasurer shall receive and safely keep all funds of this society and pay out the same only on the order of the President. The Treasurer shall report receipts and disbursements at each meeting.
The Publicity Director shall work with the President and the Vice-President to see that information about the Society and activities by the Society are publicized through the local media and the Region 14 newsletter.
               ARTICLE SIX:   MEETINGS  
All regular meetings shall be held on the second Saturday of the designated month, and shall meet at the time and place announced in the yearbook/newsletter.  Regular meetings shall be held in September, October, January, February, March, April and May. The activities of the Society shall begin with the September meeting and end after the May meeting. There will be no regular meetings in November, December, June, July or August.

Amendments may be enacted at any meeting by a two-thirds vote, a quorum being present after being presented either at a previous meeting or through the newsletter.                
                ARTICLE EIGHT: DUES
The annual dues for membership in the society shall be determined by the vote of the membership as necessary. The dues shall be payable at the September meeting and will be considered in arrears after December 31.        
All officers shall be elected to serve a term of one year. Elections shall be held during  the March business meeting, and those elected shall assume the duties of their office after the May meeting. All officers may succeed themselves for one term only. Any vacancies due to resignations shall be filled by the President until the next regular election. At the January business meeting a Nominating Committee shall be selected by vote from the membership consisting of at least five members. This committee shall present a slate of nominees at the March business meeting.
Special committees may be appointed as deemed needful by the President or the majority vote of the members at any meeting.
ROBERT’S RULES OF ORDER shall be the parliamentary authority on all matters not covered by the By Laws of this Society.        

All expenditures must have prior approval of the Society except for normal expenses incurred for regular meetings, mail-out notices, the yearbook, national dues, and other expenses as required. Should there be a decision to disband at any time in the future, the membership shall vote on the distribution of the remaining funds.        


  •    Peter Homsey
  •    Bill Robinson
  •    Kathy Homsey
  •    Tom Maddox
  •    Tom Adams (2 terms)
  •    Larry Pickel
  •     Bob Goolsby
  •     Ralph McBroom
  •     Rusty Ingram (2 terms)
  •     C.P. Winters (2 terms)
  •     Steve Hammons (2 terms)
  •     Bonnie Lingel (2 terms)



O Heavenly Father, who has filled the earth with beauty, open our eyes to behold thy gracious hand in all thy works; that, rejoicing in thy whole creation, we may learn to serve Thee with gladness; for the sake of Him by whom all things were made, thy son Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen

The Humorous

"Commandments of Garden Courtesy"

(presented with a grin and a wink)


  1. Thou shalt leave pets at home or in a shaded vehicle with the windows partly open. 
  2. Thou shalt enjoy the garden without endangering scapes or blooms with swinging purses, cameras, tripods, etc.
  3. Thou shalt use established walkways and not step into or across flower beds.
  4. Thou shall leave spent blooms where found. (No dead-heading ever!)
  5. Thou shalt read plant labels without lifting or moving for better viewing.
  6. Thou shalt ask before pollen sharing.
  7. Thou shalt allow children to enjoy the flowers under "VERY CLOSE SUPERVISION".
  8. Thou shalt allow the garden hosts to continue to hybridize and pollinate without interruption.
  9. Thou shalt call ahead for permission to visit a private garden. Thou shalt also observe posted visiting hours for open gardens.
  10. Thou shalt carry away thy cigarette butts upon leaving the garden.

 Violators shall be composted!

-used with permission of the AHS Reion 4 Newsletter